Children’s Right Project

Children have the right to grow up with equal opportunities

 

There are over one million children in Hong Kong. About one in four of our children live below the poverty line. Among some 230,000 children who struggle in poverty, 50,000 live in cramped and poor accommodation such as bedspace apartments, cubicles and sub-divided units. Many of them have to collect cardboard boxes after school to earn a living and study and do their homework on their beds.

 

Children are our future. They grow everyday and are competing with time. We should do our best to help them develop healthily which is crucial to them and to our society.

 

In 2003, SoCO adopted the philosophy of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, namely, that every child is entitled to rights without distinction of any kind such as race, colour, sex. language, religion, political or other opinion, national, ethnic or social origin, property, disability, birth or other status. SoCO works on different planes: advocating policies, organizing, providing service and social participation with a view to helping improve the lives of underprivileged children and fighting for opportunities for development.

Data (2017)

Do you know …

In the affluent society of Hong Kong there are 230,000 underprivileged children. One in four of our children live below the poverty line.

20 % of children cannot afford three meals a day.

Only 13 % of grassroots youths are able to enter universities.

50,000 children live in very poor accommodation such as bedspace apartments, sub-divided units or roof top huts.

60 % of grassroots children do not seek or delay seeking medical attention due to cost concerns.

Our Services

 

Improving policies

We organize underprivileged children to advocate formulation of policies for children development, to appoint an independent statutory Commissioner for Children’s Affairs, to improve policies regarding education, housing, social welfare, health care etc., to urge the Government to set policies from the angle of rights of the child and to provide equal opportunities for development of underprivileged children.

SoCO conducts research and studies regularly on issues relating to children’s needs and policies and make suggestions to Government on improvement. SoCO and children release annual reports by a non-Governmental Commissioner for Children’s Affairs every year. It assesses the performance of the Government in these areas, selects top ten issues of the year which are of the greatest concern to children and urges the Government to improve and follow up.

Cultivating empowerment

Outreach social workers visit underprivileged children living in older districts, provide services to them, train them, explore their potential and raise awareness of their rights. In 2003 SoCO set up a concern group on rights of the child with underprivileged children. There are now about 3,000 children members who are under 18 years of age. Members of the group elect an ambassador for rights of the child every year. The group trains children leaders to voice concerns of underprivileged children. The group hosts children’s conferences regularly and has set up sub-groups to focus on different policies. The group has also joined the alliance of non Governmental organizations under the Commission on Children to work with over 20 organizations to fight for rights of children.

Support for Development

  • Child Mentorship Scheme

SoCO launched the Child Mentorship Scheme (“CMS”) in August 2003. Under the Scheme volunteers with different professional backgrounds are paired with underprivileged children for at least a year. Mentors help mentees broaden their horizons and introduce them to resources of the community. Mentees learn to keep pace with the society and their learning and problem- solving skills are enhanced. Many children benefit from CMS in that their learning ability is improved, self-confidence boosted and horizons broadened. Most importantly, they experience the concerns of the society for them.

 

During the process, a continuous evaluation and reflection will be conducted on a regular basis. Quarterly meeting will be held to exchange mentors’ opinions. Moreover, mentors are advised to report to the social workers whenever they observe there are any presenting difficulties and needs from the children and their families.

 

One volunteer (mentor) will be paired up with one child to facilitate better conditions for the child development by the following means:

  • Regular home visits or contacts (at least once per week) – e.g. tutorials, emotional support, introducing community resources, etc,.
  • Outdoor activities – e.g. recreational activities, countryside walk, visit museums, etc,. (certain mass programmes will be directly organized by SoCO)
  • Other useful activities which are suitable for their life exposure and growth.

Download Form

 

  • Community Learning Centre

SoCO opened its Community Learning Centre in Kwei Lin Street in Sham Shui Po in 2000. The Centre provides free tutorial classes for underprivileged children who can also borrow study material from the Centre. With the continuing support of over 100 volunteers, the Centre is open seven days a week. Every year the Centre provides support to thousands of underprivileged children thereby increasing their learning opportunity and exploring their talent.

 

  • A Comprehensive Centre to support alleviation of poverty

With the sponsorship of the Chow Tai Fook Charity Fund (“CTFCF”), SoCO New World Community Centre in Fuk Wa Street, Sham Shui Po was opened in 2012. The Centre provides free, all round and continuing service to grassroots children and their families to alleviate poverty. Services include support for employment of parents, tutorial groups for young children and up to secondary students, remedial classes, foundation courses, classes on English pronunciation, Cambridge English classes and courses on Chinese musical instruments (such as erhu, flute, guzheng, zhongruan, liuqin, yangqin ). Outdoor activities are organized to broaden the horizon and learning experience of children. The Centre provides service for over 10,000 people.

 

  • Business sector shows their care and concern

SoCO has been working with different business sectors since 2003 to provide support services to underprivileged children and their families. By participating in voluntary work in alleviation of poverty employees show their concerns for the underprivileged. This will enhance communication and understanding between rich and poor. Many business concerns have continued to provide their support for underprivileged children for many years.


KPMG was the first company that approached SoCO on its own initiative and has been working with SoCO since 2003. Over the years KPMG staff continue to organize exciting outdoor activities for over 1,000 underprivileged children every year. They also care about the daily needs of children. For example, air conditioning units are donated in the hot summer, they fund deposits for renting of cubicles occupied by underprivileged children and donations of various material are made. 600 children receive surprise Christmas presents from them every year. KPMG sponsored the publication by SoCO of photo albums entitled “Our Treasure” and “Our Treasure II “ in 2004 and 2014 respectively and the related photo exhibitions. In 2007, KPMG sponsored SoCO’s publication of “Our Life in West Kowloon” and a photo exhibition. In 2005 KPMG set up the “KPMG 6Oth anniversary scholarship” to fund tertiary education of underprivileged students. It also provides internship for underprivileged university students. Since 2012 it has continued to provide funding for remedial English classes for young children and up to secondary students.


Since 2006 members of Ladies’ Recreation Club (“LRC”)have been organizing day camps for underprivileged children every year where they can enjoy the facilities of the Club. LRC also donates cash and material to SoCO to support its work to alleviate poverty.


Bloomberg staff have been organizing outdoor activities for underprivileged children since 2007. Since 2013 Bloomberg offers English courses for underprivileged children in their office in Central after office hours. It organizes career guidance lectures and career counselling service to youths. It donates material to underprivileged children. It also matches hours of voluntary service of their staff with donations to SoCO to support its work to alleviate poverty.


Chow Tai Fook Charity Fund started funding the operation of SoCO New World Community Centre in Fuk Wa Street, Sham Shui Po in 2012. The Centre provides comprehensive support to underprivileged children and their families to get out of poverty. Chow Tai Fook staff take part in voluntary services and donate material to underprivileged children and their families.


New World Development has been working with SoCO since 2012 to offer swimming courses and professional basketball training to underprivileged children. It also organizes lectures on parent-child topics as well as outdoor learning activities.

 

  • Poverty Relief Fund for Children

Through donations in cash and in kind from individuals and corporations, the Fund provides emergency aids, learning and domestic material/services to underprivileged children.

Related Human Right

兒童權利工作計劃

孩子有平等成長的權利

 

香港有超過100萬民兒童,約每四位便有一位活在貧窮線下。23萬名掙扎求存的貧窮兒童,他們當中五萬人更是蝸居於籠屋、板間房及劏房等惡劣環境,不少更要放學後撿紙皮維生,回家要瑟縮床上溫書做功課。

 

兒童是社會的未來,他們每天也在成長,要與時間競賽,儘力協助他們全面健康發展,對於他們及社會亦非常關鍵。

 

社協於2003年以聯合國《兒童權利公約》的理念:「每一個兒童均享有權利,不因其種族、膚色、性別、語言、宗教、政治、或其他見解、民族、族裔或社會出身、財產、傷殘、出生或其他身份而有任何差別。」在政策倡議、組織、服務及社會參與幾個層面,協助貧窮兒童改善生活及爭取發展機會。

數據 (2017)

你知道嗎? 在富裕的香港……

230,000名貧窮兒童在香港,每4名兒童就有一個活在貧窮線下

20%兒童每天三餐都也吃不足

只有13%基層青少年可以入讀大學

50,000名兒童蝸居於籠屋、劏房和天臺屋,生活環境惡劣

60%基層兒童因怕費用昂貴而不求醫或延遲求醫

我們的服務

 

改進政策

組織貧窮兒童一起倡議制定兒童發展政策,設立獨立法定兒童專員,改進教育、房屋、福利及健康等方面政策,要求政府從兒童權利角度,制定有關兒童的政策,為貧窮兒童提供平等發展機會。

社協定期就兒童各方面需要及政策,作出研究,探討問題及向政府作出改進建議。每年與兒童發佈民間兒童專員報告,每年為政府的工作評分及選出十大兒童關注事項,敦促政府改善及跟進。

培育充權

外展舊區探訪貧窮兒童,提供服務及培育兒童,發掘潛能及提升權利意識。於2003年與貧窮兒童一起成立兒童權利關注會,現時約有三千名18歲以下的兒童會員,每年一人一票選舉兒童權利大使,培訓兒童領袖,代表貧窮兒童發聲,同時定期召開兒童大會及開設不同兒童政策關注組。亦參與爭取兒童事務委員會的民間組織聯盟,與二十多個團體一起爭取兒童權益。

支援成長

  • 兒童啟蒙天使計劃

社協於2003年8月開展此計劃,招募來自不同專業的義工成為兒童啟蒙天使一對一為貧窮兒童提供至少一年義務支援,為貧窮兒童擴闊眼界,引領兒童認識社會資源,學習跟隨社會步伐,提升學習及處事能力。不少受惠兒童的學習能力獲得改進、提高自信心及擴闊生活眼界,最重要是體驗社會的關懷。

下載申請表格

 

  • 社區學習中心

社協於2000年開始在深水埗桂林街開設社區學習中心為貧困兒童提供免費學習班及借用學習用品,中心每天開放,有過百義工長期支援,每年支援過千貧困兒童為他們增進學習機會及發掘他們的才能。

 

  • 全方位支援扶貧中心

2012年在周大福慈善基金的贊助下,在深水埗福華街增設社區新世界中心,為基層兒童及家庭提供持續及全方位脫貧的免費服務,包括家長就業支援,開設由幼兒至中學的兒童功課輔導班、補底班、基礎班、英語拼音班、劍橋英文班和中國樂器班(二胡、笛、古箏、中阮、柳琴、揚琴)等,並提供不同的擴闊眼界及學習見識的戶外活動。現時中心服務過萬人。

 

  • 商界展關懷

2003年開始,本會與不同的商界合作,為貧窮兒童及家庭提供支援服務,商界動員員工做義工參與扶貧工作,為貧窮人士帶來社會關懷,亦增進貧富的交流及了解。不少商界更是多年持續支援貧窮兒童。


畢馬威會計師事務所(KPMG) 是第一間主動聯絡本會合作的公司,亦一直由2003年合作至今。十多年來,KPMG全體員工持續出錢出力每年為過千貧困兒童提供一連串精彩的戶外活動,並關注兒童日常生活上的困難,例如:在炎夏捐贈冷風機,資助租住板房的兒童繳付租金按金,捐贈物資等。每年聖誕節,為六百兒童帶來驚喜的聖誕禮物。更於2004年及2014年贊助社協出版「寶貝」及續集「寶貝二」貧窮兒童攝影集及舉行展覽,2007年贊助出版「活在西九」及攝影展。2005年KPMG成立「畢馬威六十周年獎學金」,每年資助升讀大專或大學的貧窮學生學習費用,並為貧窮大學生提供實習機會。2012年開始資助長期幼兒至中學的英文補底班。


2006年開始,婦女康樂會(LRC) 每年動員會員為貧窮兒童舉辦日營,享用會所設施,及捐贈物資及捐助本會扶貧工作。


2007年開始,彭博(Bloomberg) 動員員工為貧窮兒童提供戶外活動,2013年開始更在中環辦公室在下班後,為貧窮兒童提供英文訓練課程,同時舉辦戶外活動,並為青年提供職業導向講座及輔導,捐贈物資給貧窮兒童。同時,配對員工的義工服務時數,捐助本會扶貧工作。


2012年周大福慈善基金 開始資助本會在深水埗福華街增設社區新世界中心,全面支援貧窮兒童及家庭脫貧,同時,動員員工參與做義工及捐贈物資給貧困家庭及兒童。


2012年開始,新世界 與本會合作為貧窮兒童提供游泳及藍球專業培訓,並舉辦各項親子講座及戶外學習活動。

 

  • 兒童扶貧基金

透過個人或團體捐款或捐贈物資,為貧困兒童提供緊急生活救濟、學習及家居物資/服務等。

相關人權