New Immigrants Project

New immigrants develop on an equal ground and work together for Hong Kong

 

When Hong Kong created the miracle in the past, it was a success story of a new immigrant society. But today, new immigrant women come to Hong Kong with their kids to reunite with their husbands for a family reunion. After coming to Hong Kong, they must not only adapt to the new environment and culture, but also faced with differentiated policies and social discrimination, the road ahead is rugged and development is hindered.

The equality of human beings is the human rights concept that SoCO has always believed. We assist new immigrants to set up mutual support groups, follow up on the difficulties of new immigrants in education, housing, employment, economic hardship, reunion and social integration, and seek to eliminate discrimination through policy change which safeguarding the equal opportunities for new immigrants. SoCO also trains new immigrant women and children to understand their rights and obligations, to be self-reliant and self-sufficient in society and to develop their own strengths.

Data (2017)

 

New immigration myths and facts in comparison

The following is the information circulating by the society on new immigrants and the actual data from the government. It can be seen that there is great difference:

New Immigration factual Information (facts from the government) ✓ New Immigration Myths X
1 New immigrants come to Hong Kong for family reunion

New immigrants are locusts, coming to Hong Kong for Hong Kong welfare

X

2 About 5% of new immigrants need CSSA for special difficulties

Most new immigrants receive CSSA

X

3 More than 90% of new immigrants come to Hong Kong to live with their relatives in Hong Kong. Like ordinary Hong Kong people, 30% of Hong Kong loved ones use public housing, while 19% of public housing estates have new immigrant family members. Even if these new immigrants do not apply, Hong Kong family members will still apply or live in public housing estates

Most people living in public housing and waiting for public housing are new immigrants

X

4 Only 5% of China-Hong Kong marriages were suspected fraudulent by the Immigration Department

China-Hong Kong marriage is fraudulent

X

5 New immigrants work in the wholesale, retail, food, hospitality, community, social and personal services and construction industries.

Most of the new immigrants are coming to Hong Kong for prostitution

X

6 Hong Kong’s labor force has been insufficient, and 70% of new immigrants are working at the grassroots level.

New immigrants come to Hong Kong to compete with Hong Kong people’s job

X

7 In the past 20 years, an average of 131 new immigrants came to Hong Kong every day. Yet, there are only 64 became permanent residents in Hong Kong. It is still not enough to fill the shortage of Hong Kong workers through immigrants.

150 immigrants per day to come to Hong Kong are too many

X

8 New immigrants help Hong Kong’s family development and fill the grassroots labour force

New immigrants have no contribution to Hong Kong, they are locust

X

9 New immigrants are the mainstay of the young population. The main users of the hospital are the elderly. The number of new immigrants who have been in Hong Kong for seven years and 55 years or older is only 11,000. The population aged 55 or above in Hong Kong has 2.3 million.

New immigrants make Hong Kong hospital congested

X

Our service

 

Enhancement policy

Organize new immigrant families to jointly promote policy improvement, including: family reunion, immigration, housing, education, economy, employment, anti-discrimination, women’s rights, etc. Constantly sustain equal opportunities for new immigrants. Research is conducted regularly on the needs and difficulties and feasible policies for new immigrants.

 

Training and empowerment

In 1995, SoCO organized new immigrant families to form new immigrant support groups, organized new immigrants to fight for their rights, established mutual help networks, mutual support and serve the society. Currently, there are over 10,000 members. Members will elect a volunteer groups to lead the members every three years, and set up groups of more than ten different policy groups.

 

Support and development

  • Life Guide and assistance in integrating into Hong Kong

Follow up on the needs every member, provide guides and consulting services for reunion, housing, admission, employment, and economic improvement. It also provides adaptation courses to enable new immigrants to understand basic Hong Kong laws, human rights, social culture, community services, etc., to help new immigrants integrate into Hong Kong as soon as possible.

 

  • Employment support services

Provide employment and training guidance and seminars, child care services for new immigrant families.

 

  • Community Economic Project

For those women who are unable to find employment because of their children, SoCO can provide various community economic projects that women can work at home or work flexibly. Through these projects, new immigrants can develop their own strengths, and they can also establish a mutual network. Current projects include: Amber DIY, Jewelry DIY, Leather Bag Class, Cooperative with Les Beatitudes (https://www.lesbeatitudes.com/) DIY (https://www.soco.org.hk/womenexh/index.htm) . The development of community services, including: women’s clinic escort team, women’s after school pick up team, etc., women earn a allowance to help families get rid of poverty

 

  • All-round support for poverty alleviation services

In 2012, under the auspices of the Chow Tai Fook Charitable Foundation, the Association established a new community centre in Fuk Wah Street, Sham Shui Po. In addition to serving grassroots children, the Centre also provides free community resource referrals, information presentations, job matching, employment skills training, child care, community economic planning, emotional counseling, discipline and emotional control, etc. for exit-entry permit visitors, quasi-immigrants, new immigrants and permanent residents. Concurrently, the Chow Tai Fook Charitable Foundation has set up a fund to support the new Immigrant or grassroots women employment to keep them out of poverty.

 

  • Lifelong learning

Provide different long-term study courses and information for new immigrants, and encourage new immigrants to strive for lifelong learning.

 

Mutual Help

  • Member Network

Provide members benefits and build a mutual help network to help them improve their quality of life.

 

  • Women Volunteer Team

Organize new immigrant women to volunteer and help manage SoCO community learning center. The learning center is open every day and assists thousands of poor families and children every year. In addition, it provides free community consultation services for new immigrants and grassroots families to help liaise with members, visit elderly people and give out donated materials.

Related Human Right

新移民工作

新移民平等發展,齊心為家為香港

 

當年香港締造獅子山下奇蹟,正是一個新移民社會的成功故事,但今天新移民婦女為了一家團聚,帶著年幼的子女來港與丈夫團聚,來港後不單要適應全新環境與文化,更要面對區別政策及社會歧視,前路崎嶇,發展受阻。

人人生而平等,是社協一直堅信的人權理念,我們協助新移民成立互助組織,跟進新移民在教育、房屋、就業、經濟、團聚及融入社會等方面的困難,並向政府爭取取消歧視政策及立法反歧視,維護新移民平等發展機會。社協亦培訓新移民婦女及兒童認識自己的權利和義務,自強自立投入社會,發揮所長。

數據 (2017年)

 

新移民錯誤及正確訊息比較

以下為社會對新移民流傳的資料及政府的真實數據,可見兩者差別之大:

正確的新移民資料(來自政府) √ 錯誤的新移民資料 X
1 新移民為家庭團聚及自由而來港

新移民是蝗蟲,為香港福利而來港

X

2 約5%新移民因特殊困難而需領取綜援

大部份新移民都領取綜援

X

3 15%輪候公屋者有新移民家庭成員

輪候公屋者大多是新移民

X

4 只有5%中港婚姻被入境處懷疑假結婚

中港婚姻都是假婚姻

X

5 新移民較多任職於批發、零售、飲食及酒店業、社區、社會及個人服務業和建造業

新移民大多是來港賣淫

X

6 香港勞動人口一直不足,7成新移民做基層工作

新移民來港搶香港人飯碗

X

7 過去20年,每日平均125名新移民來港,仍未能填補香港勞工不足

每日150個名額來港太多人

X

8 新移民幫助香港家庭發展,填補勞動力人口

新移民對香港無貢獻,是蝗蟲

X

9 新移民來港,都有來自香港的親人,貧窮率36.2%較全港的20.1%為高,但領取綜援率卻相若低,95%都是自食其力。而平均新移民每年來港的人口,少於本港每年死亡人數。

新移民都是香港貧窮問題的來源,是香港的包袱。

X

我們的服務

 

改進政策

組織新移民家庭一起倡議政策改進,包括:家庭團聚、房屋、教育、經濟、就業、反歧視、婦女權益等政策,維護新移民平等發展機會等。並定期就新移民的需要及困難、可行政策作出研究。

 

培訓充權

本會於1995年組織新移民家庭成立新移民互助會,組織新移民爭取權益、建立互助網絡、互助互愛及服務社會,現時有過萬名會員。每三年由會員選出義務幹事會,作為領袖帶領會員工作,下設十多個不同政策的關注組。

 

支援發展

  • 生活指南及協助融入香港

逐一跟進會員需要,提供團聚、房屋、入學、就業、改善經濟等方面的生活指南及諮詢服務。並提供適應課程,讓新移民了解基本的香港法律、人權、社會文化、社區服務等,協助新移民早日融入香港。

 

  • 就業支援服務

為新移民家庭提供就業及培訓指導及講座、托兒服務等。

 

  • 社區經濟項目

為因照顧子女而無法就業的婦女提供各類在家工作或彈性工作的社區經濟項目,一方面新移民可以發揮所長,一方面亦建立社區互助網絡。現時的工作項目包括: 琥珀手工、珠寶手工、皮袋班、與愛連心 (https://www.lesbeatitudes.com/) 合作皮革、手袋手作 (https://www.soco.org.hk/womenexh/index.htm) 。發展社區服務,包括: 婦女陪診隊、婦女接送隊等,婦女賺取一定的津貼,協助家庭脫貧。

 

  • 全方位支援脫貧服務

本會於2012年在周大福慈善基金的贊助下,在深水埗福華街設立社區新世界,中心除服務基層兒童外,亦為基層的雙程證探親人士、準移民、新移民和永久居民提供免費的社區資源轉介、資訊介紹、就業配對、就業技能訓練、子女託管、社區經濟計劃、情緒輔導、管教和情緒控制等講座等,同時,周大福慈善基金更設立基金「心深連動」支援新移民或基層的婦女就業及脫貧。

 

  • 自強進修

為新移民提供不同的長短學習課程及資訊,鼓勵新移民努力進修自強不息。

 

互助助人

  • 會員互助網絡

透過會員網絡提供生活優惠及建立互助網絡,協助會員改善生活質素。

 

  • 婦女義工隊

組織新移民婦女做義工,協助管理本會社區學習中心,學習中心天天開放,每年協助數千個貧窮家庭及兒童,此外,為新移民及基層家庭提供免費社區諮詢服務,協助聯絡會員、探訪老人、派發捐贈物資等。

相關人權